D. Boon: Age 27 | Cause Of Death: CAR CRASH

The Minutemen

(b. Dennis Dale Boon, 1 April 1958, d. 22 Dec. 1985)

Formed in 1980 in San Pedro, California, USA, and originally known as the Reactionaries. This influential hardcore trio initially comprised D. Boon (guitar/vocals), Mike Watt (bass) and Frank Tonche (drums), but the last named was replaced by George Hurley prior to recording. Although the trio donated tracks to several independent compilations, notably for the pivotal Radio Tokyo Tapes and the Posh Boy and New Alliance labels, their association with SST Records resulted in some of the genre’s most impressive recordings.  The Minutemen started in February of 1980 and roared on ’til December 22, 1985 when D. boon was killed in a van accident in Arizona.